August 4th, 2016 | Interstellar Steel Bridges

Clear Sky, 29°C

Kaohsiung

I worked today from 1:30 p.m. to 5 p.m. just your average normal work day. Which is good. No problems at work.

Arrived home at 6:30 p.m. to take care of Alexander as my wife and father-in-law went to visit my mother-in-law in hospital. She has deteriorated yet again overnight. She now needs an oxygen mask to breathe. And she can’t talk now, just whisper at best. Her own father came to visit her today. He is in his nineties. Now that must be terrible. To come and visit your own daughter who is dying. It reminds me of the movie called “Interstellar” where a father outlived his daughter by many hundreds of years due to space travel and time. Different circumstances but it is the same situation. Outliving your children.

Granddad’s wife died years ago of cancer and now his daughter. His wife (which is Alex’s maternal grandmother) died on 6th of August. Some family members think that my mother-in-law is trying to reach the 6th of August as well, which is this Saturday. As I said before the 6th of August is the anniversary of the bombing of Hiroshima. Why these events take place on this particular day is beyond me.

The photo today I was taken on my way to work. It is a bridge that services the north train line in the Gangshan area of northern Kaohsiung. You don’t see many of these old style steel bridges anymore. A useful relic of a bygone era. Even with great age some things continue to have purpose. Perhaps one day human beings will reach that same level. We can only hope.

Powered by Journey.

