August 23rd, 2016 | Traffic & Dentists

Scooter verses Van accident
A typical red light of scooters
Two of my students. Very happy.
Classroom with new flooring.

Scattered Clouds, 35°C

No. 956, Minzu 1st Road, Zuoying District

Tuesday. 8:00 a.m. Kaohsiung.

25 years ago on this day the internet was born. Thank you Sir Tim Berners-Lee for connecting the world.

Time to hit the road and off to work.

830 am. Witnessed my first scooter accident for the day. I will see an accident almost every time I go to work. Like I said before. Driving in Taiwan is extremely dangerous, if you don’t understand the road here. And you must be in “Terminator mode” of which I have talked about previously.

In the photo you can see the scooter victim was a young woman, who thankfully was only slightly injured, nothing life threatening. The perp was an older man in a van. Van drivers don’t give a damn about anyone. So you got to be on your guard. My guess he (the van driver) ran a red light as she was scooting through. This accident would have only happened 5 minutes before I stopped at that intersection. As the ambulance was already there on scene and I could hear a police squad car on the way.

10:00 a.m. Tainan

Arrived on time at the dentist. My dentist is the father of one of my private students Anli. Today he found I had cracked two back upper teeth, which explained the unusual jaggered sensation in my upper mouth. To prevent infection he issued antibiotics and some painkillers. I will need to return tomorrow at 230pm and have a root canal procedure done. It will take about 1 hour. He did a root canal procedure on me last year. It was fast, pain-free and friendly. Taiwanese dentists are all trained in the United States. If they are not, they won’t get any business. They all speak English of course as well. Their clinics are immaculately clean, comfortable and ultra modern with the latest in dental technology.

Todays visit cost $50NT ($1.60 USD) Yes, I said one dollar and sixty cents! A root canal will cost about $150 NT. Now why is it so unbelievably cheap? Taiwan’s health insurance program. I pay about $740 NT per month into the Taiwanese National Health Insurance scheme. Which is compulsory if you live in Taiwan for more three months. I’ve been here 10 years. And it has been worth every cent! I’m sure you will agree. However be warned without National Health Insurance the price of a visit will be around 2000 NT or more!

I noticed today that their x-ray room houses a Kodak 8000C X-ray machine. I had no idea Kodak manufactured dental equipment. Then again it makes sense, it is still photography. Dental photography.

I don’t have class tomorrow and Alexander started daycare again this morning. So the dental appointment tomorrow works out perfectly.

1130 a.m. Arrived at work to discover some new flooring had arrived to replaced an aged and worn flooring in the preschool after schoolcare class room. I had volunteered to put the new flooring down if they ordered it. I didn’t mind. The old floor was annoying. I tripped over raised pieces of carpet tiles constantly as I taught; To the amusement of the students. So I shall take great pleasure in ripping it all up.

4:00 p.m. to 6:30p.m. taught two classes and then headed off back home to Kaohsiung. I’m going to have a juicy steak and vegetables dinner with a nice cold Busch beer ! As tomorrow after the dentist I wont be in the mood.

Powered by Journey.

