August 27th, 2016 | Manic Iron Horses

Pokemon hunt in Tainan Park
Kaohsiung 2002 iron horse.
Kaohsiung City Water Tower

Shower Rain, 28°C

No. 375, Guanghua 1st Road, Xinxing District

Saturday.

What a crazy morning.

7:30 a.m. I woke up after a fairly good sleep, gums healing well. Swept the floor, vacuumed , mopped, fed the birds (2 budgerigars), fed the cats (3) then went to get some breakfast for my wife. I still can’t chew yet so I am continuing with my Ensure drink.

9:00 a.m. Somehow on the way to the breakfast shop I lost $1000NT. And had only enough change to buy breakfast. I got back home feeling very frustrated and upset. Thumping the coffee table in frustration. And then coping an ear full from my wife for getting too upset. But $1000 NT at the end of a month is a lot of money to lose. Payday is only once a month in Taiwan for most people. So stretching the budget to the end of the month with a family can be difficult if your are not careful.

So I went out again for about 30 minutes looking for the lost loot. Luckily I spotted it. It was flapping under a car tire that I had parked next to while waiting at the traffic lights earlier. Phew! Then when I went back home and realized I had now lost my glasses! They probably fell off when I reached down to grab the bill. So back again I went. Oh it’s just one of those days.

11:00 a.m. I set off to Tainan. I have a private student today. Mia. And it was at least a nice enough day to go for a ride. A good long ride to shake the stress of a manic morning.

1:00 p.m. I arrived in Tainan a little bit early. So I decided to do some Pokemon hunting around the University and then Tainan Central Park. Caught a few Pokemon. That killed some time.

2:00 p.m. Arrived at Mia’s house, my private student. Mia is 12 years old and she’s fun to teach. I’ve been her tutor for almost 2 years I think. We have plenty of conversations. Today we were studying Albert Einstein. It’s amazing what you learn when you teach. I though I knew a bit about Einstein (his personal life) but I have to admit I learned a bit more for sure today.

430 p.m. headed back home to Kaohsiung.

On the way back I took two photos.

6:00 pm Took the 1st photo of the iconic iron horse in northern petroleum refinery district of Kaohsiung. The horse was for the Year of the horse in 2002. The chinese word Kaohsiung (which means ‘Tall & Mighty’) is actually a Japanese name Takao City, which was a beautiful scenic spot in Kyoto, Japan.

6:21 pm. Took the 2nd photo which is Kaohsiung’s famous city water tower.

There it is.

Powered by Journey.
