August 29th, 2016 | Clockwork

august-29-2016---1
Alexander feeding his Teddy Bear.
august-29-2016---2
Keys at the laundromat
august-29-2016---3
Alexander using his Samsung Tab.

Broken Clouds, 27°C

Kaohsiung

Monday.

6:30 a.m. Alexander woke with his normal “I’m hungry” crying after which he gulped down 230 ml of formula. At the same time I had a chocolate flavored Ensure drink. Yum.

6:50 a.m. Alex did some role playing this morning. It’s the 1st time he started doing this. So it was very interesting to watch. He sat next to his brown teddy bear and started to pretend he was feeding it food using different shaped blocks. He made the chewing sounds as well. After a while he said “Mo Mo, mo mo” which in Taiwanese means ‘no more.’ How delightful.

8:00 a.m. Dropped Alexander into daycare. No problems.

2: 41 p.m. It’s back to the laundromat again. So how much laundry and what does it cost ? I produce about 6 kilograms of laundry a week. That includes clothing and bed linen. And that cost me about $100 NT to wash and dry. We do have a washing machine at home but it is very old and the results not too good. One day we’ll get around to replacing it, but not just yet. Both the main bathroom and the kitchen both need some major repairs and upgrading. And the plumbing in the house also needs to be upgraded. So a new washing machine right now it’s a bit out of the question. What’s good about having a new washing machine if the pipes bringing in water and taking out water are not up to standard? Kind of self defeats the purpose, so we need to wait.

3:10 p.m. As I started loading the washing into the drying machine it began to rain outside. I think this wet weather marks the end of summer. In fact today is the first day of the new school year for all children in Taiwan. My classes will start picking up next week as children return to attend their after school classes. I am glad because that means my salary will get better. During summer vacation my salary suffers greatly of course. No students … No class … No money.

5:00 p.m. I picked up Alexander from his daycare. His teacher said there were no problems today. Good.

5:15 p.m. Dad had arrived home and showered when I arrive back with Alexander. So they went out for a walk together afterward. Alex likes going for walks with his grandfather. And his grandfather obviously enjoys Alex company. There must be a bit of an empty gap in his daily life now that Mom has passed away. I’m sure having Alexander takes his mind off such things and keeps him busy.

Chia’s dad is a master polisher. He has done that job for countless years. I don’t know exactly what that job entails though. I need to find out and expand my knowledge.

My dad is a retired electrician for the Queensland railways. His job was servicing Electric Trains. My mum is a retired registered nurse. She was a nurse for more than 30 years.

5: 45 p.m. I steamed some congee for Alex and then while I prepared his bath Dad fed him. I like it when things go like clockwork.

6:00 p.m. Alex self educating himself with his Samsung Tab. I allow him about 30 minutes each day just to play with the tablet. He seems to come across some very interesting kids things. And there are specific videos he will watch repeatedly. What’s great about that is that he will start the tablet himself and power it on. Then open the video application and scroll through a list of videos, tapping the ones that appeal to.him. At first I thought It was some random luck but later discovered he is actually selecting ones he likes or remembers. That’s a smart kid if you ask me!

Powered by Journey.
