August 31st, 2016 | Dentists & Diagnostics

My dentist Mr Zhang who is the father of my student Anli.
Yasuda Dental Clinic (Closed for lunchbreak). Tainan.

Broken Clouds, 35°C

No. 144, Section 1, Fuqian Road, West Central District

Wednesday.

12:30 p.m. Very warm sunny day today. I set off for Tainan after consuming my last can of vanilla flavored ‘Ensure’. I have an appointment at the dentist at 2:30 p.m.

2:30 p.m. The surgery has healed very well. I was only in the dentist’s chair for 5 minutes as he carefully removed remains of stitches and checked for any infection. Nothing. Good job. I recommend Mr Zhang to anyone visiting Tainan with a tooth problem. Of course if you’re reading this a few hundred years from now, tough luck, you missed out!

3:00 p.m. Dropped by a pharmaceutical supply store in Tainan from which I have been getting medical and health supplies from for the past 3 years. I am a person who self treats, rather than visit a GP. Not that GPs are not good, I just don’t like the hassle of waiting at a clinic with sick people around me. And then having  a doctor telling me what I already know. I just want to remedy, not the diagnostics. At 45 years of age I have built up a knowledge base of how my body works and what it responds to and what it doesn’t. I rarely become ill these days as my immunity to viruses and bugs is quite strong, mostly due to working with children everyday who introduced you to these new fandangled things.

However from time to time my body needs a little help to deal with new strains. Which I will catch from some stranger who walks by in a shopping mall or crowded elevator and decides to share their aliments with others by coughing or sneezing without regard.

Anyhow with a little knowledge and some research it’s not very difficult to self diagnose symptoms and self prescribe the appropriate pharmaceutical to remedy the illness. So sometimes I will drop into the medical supply store to grab a bit of what I need at the time. Mostly those I seek are antibiotics, antihistamines, painkillers, anti inflammatories and hydrocortisone. There is also a special cough mixture called “Brown Mixture” which has a tiny percentage of opium mixed within. Quite legal. But banned in some other countries. I only prescribed myself 3 days worth of any kind of remedy. Usually 3 days is enough. I don’t like to over prescribe, as the body needs to put in some effort too.

Today however I’m dropping by for something different. I’m getting 3 cans of Ensure for my wife, who is feeling run down from stress at work and not eating properly . Of course you can buy Ensure in most stores but it’s difficult to buy them in individual cans. I only want 3 cans, not a pack of 8. The pharmacist at the medical supply store is able to break up goods for me. And it’s cheap. Wholesale price.

3:30 p.m. arrived at work early. Going to take a break for a while.

4:00 p.m. I have one lesson with Anli. I know she’ll get a thrill when she sees the photograph that I took of myself with her father today. It will cause considerable conversation.

5:00 p.m. Finished my class and then picked up my monthly pay. Now I can take care of some overdue bills. At the top of the bills list is of course Child Care and the Phone company. These two must be paid or you are in a whole lot of trouble.

7:00 pm. About 10 kilometers away from home the scooter stopped, again. I had run out of fuel. The reason being is my fuel gauge is LCD and after 7 years of exposure to intense sunlight it has faded into oblivion. It’s impossible to read, so I have to guess my fuel consumption. Sometimes I get it wrong! Fortunately I was only about three hundred meters away from a petrol station. So it was a five-minute push and I was back on the road.

730 p.m. Home again home again jiggity jig.

Powered by Journey.
Leave a Reply

