September 4th, 2016 | Donuts & Japanese Umeshu

Breakfast coffee and donut.
Japanese Umeshu.
Mum and Me on Skype.
Me and some Hiroshima school children. The A-Bomb Dome in the background.

Light Intensity Shower Rain, 26°C

Kaohsiung

6:30 a.m. Alex woke up as usual wanting to play with his toys and by 7 a.m. he had his first milk feed.

9:00 a.m. time for morning fresh cup of coffee and donut. There’s nothing better than the smell of fresh-brewed coffee in the morning it really brings a zest to life. I use 100% pure Arabica coffee. Imported from Italy.

As well as Tea, Taiwanese are big coffee lovers too, so it’s not very difficult or expensive to buy imported coffee beans as there are dozens of coffee shops in local areas to keep up to the demand. While I like occasionally to have coffee at “Starbucks Coffee” or someplace like that is far too expensive for someone like me. So I prefer to make my own home brew. It’s just as good, perhaps even better. I am my own barista.

12:00 p.m. Skyped with Mum for about an hour today. She helped me go through some old photos that I will post later. I was unsure of the dates and what events or memories around them. All these things add up to the bigger picture of life. It was Father’s Day today to in Australia. I didn’t know that because in Taiwan they celebrate Father’s Day on August 8th. Because 8/8 or “Ba Ba” sounds like father in mandarin Chinese.

1:30 p.m. went to the Dream Mall shopping center this afternoon for a look around. Then went to a baby store. We had to buy a new stroller for Alexander. The one we had was passed down to us from Chia’s oldest aunt. But it is falling apart and so now we needed to replace it.

6:00 p.m. Bought some Japanese liqueur called Umeshu from carrefour this evening. Oh yeah Japanese alcoholic beverages … party tonight… hahaha. Umeshu is a traditional Japanese liqueur made from ume fruit. Its taste is sweet and tart with notes of almond. The alcoholic content of Umeshu is 17%. Enough to put a smile on your face. This particular one I bought tonight came with two free tumbler glasses. Great!

I guess the Umeshu we are having tonight is a precursor to visiting Japan later this year. My wife and I are hoping we can goto Japan this coming November for a brief 1 week vacation. Chia has never been to Japan before and has always wanted to go. I’ve been fortunate enough to have been there several times before. My favorite place is Hiroshima. I fell in love with Hiroshima the very first time I stayed there. It was unexpectedly very beautiful and so peaceful. My goal had been to visit the A-Bomb dome, the Hiroshima peace park and children’s peace memorial, the Atomic Bomb museum and ground zero where the worlds 1st nuclear weapon was dropped on a civilian population. I found I couldn’t do my tour all at one time. It was far too testing and emotional. So I went twice. The second time though was more emotional than the first because I understood a whole lot more about the victims of that nuclear holocaust and the nightmarish hell that had unfolded on the very ground I walked upon. It was a life changing and unforgettable experience. Nuclear weapons are the ultimate evil.

This time however I will be going to Osaka and Kyoto. I’ve been to Osaka a few times before as well but I have never been to Kyoto. Kyoto looks stunningly beautiful in photos I’ve seen and is rich in Japanese culture.

830 p.m. Alex is now asleep. It’s time to enjoy some Japanese Umeshu.

Powered by Journey.

Leave a Reply

