September 5th, 2016 | Back to school

Alexander not feeling well today.
Alexander stares as we wait for the pediatrician.
Microwave lunch at a Family Mart in Tainan.(Curry Chicken & Rice)
Tainan Grade 1 & 2 ESL students. Hank, Stitch, Cindy, Ariel and David.
wp-1473085831976.jpg
Game Play: Students are given 60 seconds to match a mixed pile of Uppercase and Lowercase letters. Under a timer it is not as easy as you think.

Broken Clouds, 34°C

No. 77-81, Fudong Street, East District

Monday.

6:39a.m. Alex has been coughing all night. So didn’t get much sleep. I will need to take him to the children’s clinic this morning.

6:45 a.m. Alex drank 230ml of formula quite quickly. Very thirsty / hungry.

8:50a.m. Took Alexander to the child clinic. He had a persistent cough and running nose. Glad I did because he had a slight fever and some tonsillitis. Pediatrician gave him some medicine to take 4 times per day for three days.

9:15 a.m. Dropped Alex into daycare along with his medicine.

11:00 a.m. Set off for Tainan. I work today from 2:00 p.m. to 7:00 p.m. New classes, but most of the same students upgraded from last year.

12:30 p.m. Arrived in Tainan and decided to have lunch at Family Mart near my school. Today’s menu: chicken curry on rice and a can of Coca-Cola.

1:00 p.m. Arrived at work. Need to prepare my classroom. I usually arrive early. I don’t like rushing my preparation and like to make sure everything is fresh and clean. I am an ESL teacher. (English as a Second Language) Been doing this job for over 10 years now. I thoroughly enjoy it too. Which is strange because growing up I didn’t like teachers and had no intention of ever becoming one. But that changed one year when my younger sister Wendy encourage me to take up a teaching position. I wasn’t really interested in the position. But I went to the interview anyway. I was surprised to discover that I was a natural teacher and liked it. So a new career began. I also decided if I was going to be a teacher I would make sure my students had a great time and enjoyed themselves. So my classes and teaching style is fun, friendly and as stress free as possible for me and my students. Taiwanese students are under tremendous pressure to perform well in school. I didn’t want to add to that. So I give them a good time and let them be kids.

2:00 p.m. ~ 3:30 p.m. E1E2 (Elementary students grade 1 and 2) Cindy, Hank, David, Thomas and Stitch (as in Milo & Stitch) .

4:40 p.m. ~ 6:00 p.m. E4. Shawn, Sean, Danny, Apple, Ann.

6:00 p.m. ~ 7:00 p.m. New Private student called Murphy.

730 p.m. Time to return to Kaohsiung. And it’s decided to rain again. It’s going to be a long slow ride home. I never take risks in wet weather.

9:00 p.m. Arrived home to find one of the cats had been accidentally locked in the bedroom. What a path of destruction it made. Now we have to replace an entire mattress of our Ikea bed. Oh brother.

 

Powered by Journey.
Leave a Reply

