September 6th, 2016 | Washing & Weather with some fava beans and a nice Chianti …

The center of the universe: the laundromat
Oh my favorite school lunch: Curry Rice
The orange area just happens to be my territory.
Alexander knows how to get through a rainy day, catch up with the latest news …
Hello Clarice, It’s good to see you again. My Hannibal Lecter night mask.

 


Shower Rain, 28°C

No. 402-1, Yixin 1st Road, Qianzhen District

Tuesday.

Today marks one month since Chia’s mom passed away from Cancer. I don’t know what waits for us after our expiry date. But at least for mom the suffering has stopped. Rest peacefully mom.

8:30 a.m. Rain, rain, rain. Let it rain. And isn’t it ever. This is the 1st time I have experienced several days if continuous rain in Kaohsiung. Having only lived in the south for 3 years, I still don’t know if this is normal for weather here. I spent my 1st seven years in Taiwan living in Taipei City in the north. Miserable weather there is quite normal and one of the reasons I packed my bags and shifted to the sunny south. Then again is weather normal anywhere on this planet now? Everywhere it seems to be changing permanently. We shall see.

9:30 a.m. At the laundromat again. Have some clothes and bedding to wash.

11:00 a.m. The rain stopped for about 15 minutes giving me enough time to load the washing back onto my scooter and take it home dry.

12:30 p.m. At home I had to scout for Chia’s and my passport and make copies of them. Chia has found a travel package to Japan for the end of the year that’s quite low-cost. One of those No-Frills carriers. So in order to reserve tickets now we need of course to provide copies of our passports.

4:00 p.m. Arrived at work in Tainan only moments before a torrential downpour of rain. Phew that was close. Awaiting me inside my school was a nice hot bowl of pork curry rice. Meals are provided free at my school for teachers and students. However I don’t always have a meal there because sometimes it’s a seafood. I have an allergy to some seafood, so I steer clear of those meals. However today is curry day. Yum!

5:00 p.m. Double classes back to back. Two classes of after-school care Kindergarten students. These classes are small and very basic. The greatest challenge is to engage these young student’s minds with fun games and songs and keep them out of mischief!

7:00 p.m. Talk about raining cats and dogs. The volume of water dropping down from the sky was ridiculous. I had to travel extremely slow home to Kaohsiung tonight. The heavy rain reduced visibility a lot, covered the roads with cascading water and managed to get into every nook and cranny, despite me wearing 2 rain coats!

9:00 p.m. Finally arrived home. And guess what? It has stopped raining. Seriously, there must be a couple of jokers upstairs having a good old laugh at me. No worries boys, I will have the last laugh, somehow.

11:00 p.m. Time for a beauty mask. That’s right! I’ll say it again. Time to look like one of Hannibal Lecters disguises with some fava beans and a nice Chianti. Seriously though the only way to maintain a good skin these days is by using a herbal mask. Usually once a week I apply a Tea-tree oil cellulose mask for 20 minutes. I use a brand from South Korea called Mediheal I recommend it to anyone who needs some skin improvement. And with that Goodnight agent Starling.

Powered by Journey.

Leave a Reply

