September 10th, 2016 | Holidays and Bicycles

Alexander at Daycare
My new Bicycle that my father-in-law won and gave to me. Thanks dad!
1403354145377
Me and my father-in-law.

Scattered Clouds, 29°C

Kaohsiung

Saturday.

8:29 a.m. Looks like it’s going to be quite a fine sunny day today, perhaps a little overcast but nothing to worry about.

Alexander has daycare today and Chia has to go to work. Taiwan has a strange national holiday system. If a there is a national long week end and people don’t work on a Friday, they have to make up that lost day of productivity on the Saturday before or after that long weekend. Children as well must attend school. In other words you don’t really get a day.off. It’s a bit of a con if you ask me. Next week is the Moon Festival long weekend. So everyone is working today (except me and some others).

9:30 a.m. Had to go to the laundromat again. After storing away Alexander’s baby crib yesterday I had a bundle of bedding to wash before it too is stored away.

11:00 a.m. Chia came home with a Macbook Air laptop computer last night. She’s been saving up for a few.months for one since her last computer died. It got us into a discussion about computers in general and I revealed my past computing history since I was about 10 years old. So today I have posted about it in another section of my chronicles called “Technology in my life.” Basically I’ve had a life long love of computers.

12: 30 p.m. Went to the local dollar store and bought some black spray paint. I want to try and restore my scooter back to an original looking condition. I have been gradually replacing worn parts on it recently. Today I gave the sun scorched faded black molded plastic paneling a nice repaint. It turned out looking pretty good. On another day I will repaint the silver paneling and replace all the rusting screws and bolts holding those parts in place. Step by step it will be looking nice again.

4:30 p.m. As I worked on the scooter my father in law went to collect Alexander from daycare. I usually pick Alex up at 5 p.m. But his grandfather wanted to take him for a play in the local sports oval. So that was fine. Gave me some extra time to finish touching up the paint work on the scooter.

6:00 p.m. Alex and his grandfather returned home. Dad was worn out. Alexander had run him out of breath. So it was time for Alexander’s bath.

8:00 p.m. Running around at the sports oval with his grandfather must have really tired Alexander out. He fell asleep tight on 8 o’clock.

8:15 p.m. I received an unexpected phone call from a neighbor who was waiting for me downstairs. She took me on her scooter to the sports oval where Dad had been with Alexander in the afternoon. There was a carnival on to celebrate the incoming Moon Festival. I was dropped off to find a brand new bicycle waiting for me. My father-in-law had won it in a raffle. What a lucky guy. So I rode it home still wrapped in protective bubble wrap plastic. I will take it out for a ride tomorrow. It looks like a pretty good bicycle, perhaps maybe worth about $4000 NT. Incidentally Taiwan is the bicycle making capital of the world. Taiwan’s number one bicycle company is called Giant.

This just goes to prove a saying that I have which goes: “As the sun goes down and rises up again so does a new day with new experiences and opportunities”. Yesterday I would have never have guessed that today I would receive a brand-new bicycle. Life certainly is a curiosity.

Powered by Journey.
Leave a Reply

