September 24th, 2016 | The 2%

Tainan, Taiwan.

Mostly cloudy 31°C.

Teachers day gift from Mia’s mother.
Typhoon Megi on its way. The 17th typhoon this year!

Saturday.

6:00 a.m. Alex was up and about in.his mormal playroom routine. His eyes are much better today. Yesterday morning he couldn’t open one eye because of conjunctivitis. But that doesn’t seem to be a problem today. Great.

9:00 a.m. Chia went down to the local morning markets to buy ingredients for Alexander’s weekly supply of food. While I took care of Alex until about 11:10 a.m.

11:30 a.m. Heading off to Tainan. Put half a tanks worth of fuel into the scooter. Cost $60Nt (about 3 litres). Feeling a bit tired today. Probably because I wasn’t able to catch up on some rest yesterday as I needed to take care of Alexander all day.

1:00 p.m. I have just arrived in Tainan. At 2p.m. I have student Mia’s class. Right now I’m going to have some lunch. Chicken curry and a can of coke.

2 p.m. to 4 p.m. Arrived a little early at Mia’s house. So I sat in the lobby and did some research on unusual facts. I like to increase my general knowledge about all kinds of things whenever I have the time. Today I read that only 2% of the world’s population have green eyes. Why would that be of interest to me? because I do have green eyes. That’s very cool I’m part of the 2%.

Mia’s mother gave me some cookies from Danshui also called Tamshui.. Which is in the north of Taiwan. Danshui is very famous for the old Spanish Red Fort San Domingo built in 1629. Then the dutch conquered Taiwan in 1644 and then in 1868 the British took over during the second Opium Wars and turned the Fort into the British trade consulate. It remains today as a well-kept museum of the British era. One of Taiwan’s historical gems.

The cookies from Fort Domingo are a  gift for teachers day which is on the 28th of September. This coming Wednesday. Thankyou!

5:30 p.m.Arrived home to have an early dinner. Chia had made some pork congee.

8:30p.m. Weather report says a new typhoon named Megi is approaching Taiwan 1500 km from the south-east. It is expected to make landfall on Monday.

9:30 p.m. Retiring early to bed tonight. I feel very tired. Need to catch up on sone sleep and a few more dreams if I am lucky.

Leave a Reply

