September 26th, 2016 | Elementary, my dear Watson.

Kaohsiung. 32°c. Overcast.

Chance of rain 40%.

Monday.

Walking back from the eye doctor.
Alexander playing with his blocks.
I use game play a lot to teach. It’s fun and educational for student and teacher!
Enjoying an ice cream before work.

6:00 a.m. Alex was up early but started crying because he couldn’t open his eyes. They were truly stuck together so I used a wet tissue and carefully stroked his eyes down to remove the gunk that was keeping them closed. Definitely going back to the eye doctor today.

6:30 a.m. Had to quickly go out to the 24 hour store to get a bag of cat food. They’ve been meowing at the bedroom door all morning. Problem with 3 cats  is that they go through food 3 times as fast. It gets a little annoying.

8:30 a.m. Put Alexander into his stroller and headed off to the “Good morning” breakfast store. Chia has taken 3 days off while Alexander is unfit to go to daycare. Also on Wednesday daycare is closed because of Teachers Day. Daycare facilities and kindergartens are closed on Teacher’s Day. But schools and afternoon school classes like mine remain open. That’s a bit of a strange situation. The real teachers don’t get the day off.

9:00 a.m. Checked into the eye doctor again with Alexander. Alex needs another round of eye drops to continue treatment. Probably another 3 days before it goes away.

10:00 a.m. Spent half an hour playing with Alexander with his building blocks. Enjoys it when you play along and he gets more to it. Everyone enjoys company.

10:30 a.m. Departed on my scooter to Tainan. The sun is a bit warm today. With typhoon megi approaching on the East Coast I’m sure the weather will change quite drastically by tomorrow. But it will affect Taipei more than Kaohsiung or Tainan this time.

12 p.m. arrived in Tainan and decided to get an ice cream at the local ice cream store. Then I bought  a few snacks and some lemon juice concentrate so I can drink at School. Everyday I drink lemon water. I put about two capfuls of lemon concentrate into a bottle of water and freeze it. Then I have a refreshing drink all day. I save a lot of money not having to buy drinks too.

1:00 p.m. I prepared my classroom then took a nap for about half an hour

2:00 p.m. Elementary grades 1 & 2. Today we are doing a review of the “Let’s Go” book unit 1. Unit 1 covers things for school, the alphabet and numbers one to ten. Some of the general school items it covers are pencils, pens, book bags, books, desk, chair, ruler and eraser. It can be quite difficult to teach in a class if the children don’t know the names of basic items in the classroom so that’s why this is in a first lesson.

Then they need to learn basic classroom commands such as : take out your book, open your book, close your book, put away your book. I will then teach some basic phonics. Today the two sounds are “B” and “P”. It may sound simple for a person who is a native speaker of English but to a non native speaker these two letters can sound very similar.

I use a lot of various games, both whiteboard based games like ‘snakes and ladders’ and physical games like’ mini golf’ or basketball to teach and entertain the students. They learn very fast like this. Because learning is fun. It is also fun for the big child in myself too. Ha!

3:55 p.m. My boss Deborah mentioned to me that class might be cancelled tomorrow due to Typhoon Magi.

4:30 p.m. Elementary grade 4.

6:00 p.m. Private student Murphy.

8:30 p.m. Before I arrived home I detoured to the steakhouse and grabbed two takeaway steak meals for Chia and I. When I finally got home I noticed the wind had started to pick up a little. I could feel the typhoon in the air. Yep she’ll be coming tomorrow.

10:25 p.m. Just received a text message from.my boss. No school.tomorrow. Typhoon has closed everything. So there you go. Sleep in tomorrow! I wish! 

Leave a Reply

