October 1st, 2016 | Tires and Eyes

“Good Morning” breakfast bar.
Breakfast is packaged very conveniently.
Alexander waits as his mom scouts around for her congee ingredients.
Alex is ready for this weeks congee meal.

Saturday. Cloudy. 23°C.

Kaohsiung. Taiwan.

8:30 a.m. Went to get breakfast from the “Good Morning” breakfast bar. Toasted sandwiches and soya milk. $150NT (for two people).

In my chronicles I have started adding numerical figures of salary and living expenses for the benefit of those in the far distant future to better understand the economics of the time I live in.

8:45 a.m. Took my scooter to repair shop to have the back wheel replaced. Got a new one put on in a matter of minutes. New tire of Kymco brand (the company that manufactures my scooter) was $900NT. I noticed an immediate improvement in road handling and acceleration going home. What a difference good tires make.

10:00 a.m. took Alexander for his 3rd visit to the eye doctor. We need to get a paper from.the doctor saying his eye is almost returned to normal.

10:30 a.m. Grocery shopping at Carrefour. Need to buy ingredients for Alexanders weekly congee supply. On Saturday or Sunday, whichever is more free, Chia will make a batch of congee and freeze it in individual servings.

11:00 a.m. Alexander fell asleep on the way back home. So put him in his bed while Chia prepared to make the congee. I took a nap alongside Alex. I’m feeling a little worn out already!

3:30 p.m. Bought a tube of silicone gel and a glue gun to fill holes and cracks around Alexander’s bedroom window. Hopefully it will help keep out the next dumping of rain water. Talking of rain, it’s started again. Although it’s mostly been drizzle since about 1 p.m.

5:00 p.m. went to IKEA to get a price check on a new mattress for Alexander. One of the damn cats destroyed the old one about 2 months ago when it was accidentally locked in the bedroom for the day. Amazing what destruction one creature can do. I personally don’t like having cats and dogs inside the house. I’m always having to clean up after them. And they are not even mine. They are the family pets. I have two birds but they stay outside on the veranda. Trouble free.  I think cats and dogs should be outside where they belong, unfortunately in this place there’s nowhere for them to run around so they have to stay inside. Anyhow getting off track. The matress was a bit too expensive at the moment. 4000 NT. Ridiculous! So instead on the way out I bought some ingredients to make some hot dogs at home for dinner in the grocery section.

8:00 p.m. Hot dogs for dinner. Then milk for Alexander and off to bed he goes.

9:00 p.m. Had to go to Carrefour and buy another pair of reading glasses. Alexander managed to discover my old pair hidden under my pillow and decided I only needed one ear to wear them. And tore off the right ear rest. Luckily they aren’t prescription glasses. They’re just for short-sighted 1.5% Only started needed reading glasses a few months ago. It was annoying how suddenly my eyes were blurring and a simple task of reading a book or a price tag was becoming frustrating. I resisted the move to wear them because I never though I would have vision problems so early. My eyes have been good to me for decades. It’s a slap in the face reminder that I am getting older. In my mind I think I’m only about 28 or 29 perhaps. Not 45! Physical aging is cruel.Thankfully though we can stay whatever internal age we choose. Inside I am forever young.

Leave a Reply

