October 3rd, 2016 | Monthly Shearing

At the eye clinic again. Alex is held by his grandfather as we wait.
Time for the monthly shearing ritual.

Kaohsiung.Taiwan.

Cloudy. 27°c.  Monday.

8:00 a.m. Arrived at a different eye clinic this morning. The previous clinic said they don’t issue health clearance certificates (a note from the doctor). (Maybe worried they’d be sued if the diagnosis was wrong. I’m assuming.

So we went to one that another mother from the childcare center recommended to Chia.

830 a.m. After an extensive examination Alexander seems to still have some infection that is linked with a snuffy nose. That’s best I can explain it. So he needs to come back on Wednesday. Then they can give us a certificate if all is clear. Oh, what a bother.

9 a.m. Sent a message to my boss to ask for tomorrow off to babysit Alexander. He can’t go back into daycare until Wednesday. Neither my wife nor my father in law can take the day off or risk being fired. We’ve all had too many days off this year due to Mom’s chemotherapy and subsequent passing and now Alexander’s constant sicknesses from the daycare center.

10:00 a.m. My father-in-law will stay home for a half day today. Then Chia will come home early in the afternoon to take care of Alexander. Chia also said she may have to face retrenchment soon. Her travel agency is suffering because of the big drop in Chinese tourists visiting Taiwan. Tourism from China has been blocked by the Chinese government in anger over Taiwan electing a President who doesn’t believe in the ‘one china policy’ in regards to Taiwan being part of China. Which it isn’t and never has been. Anyway China’s bullying tactics have hurt the Taiwan tourism industry for those services that cater to the Chinese tourist market. Many tour agencies have folded and hotels shuttered. Unfortunately my wife works for a tourist packaging agency that caters for Chinese. And they are feeling the effects. But there is hope that they can switch over to doing package deals for Japanese tourists. Hope so.

1030 a.m. Left for work in Tainan. Yes, there was a big improvement in the scooter ride to Tainan. The new back tire and re-skinned seat made a big difference in comfort and stability.

1230 p.m. Arrived in Tainan in the north district where I used to live a few years ago. Dropped into my medical supply store and grabbed two cans of Ensure. This week I am going to try to loose a kilo or so. Also I’m feeling rather tired and the Ensure should boost up my energy and alertness.Cost $110NT

12:25 pm. Hair Salon. My hair is starting to get Einsteinian. Time to.crop it back neatly. Cost $250NT. I have been using the same hairdresser for about 3 years. She knows what I want and gets to it with a pleasant smile and cup of tea. I usually get a haircut once  a month.

1:00 p.m. Arrived at work and took a nap. Wow I was out like a light. Woke up 10 minutes before class.

2:00 pm to 6:30 pm. 3 classes.

6:45p.m. Headed  back to Kaohsiung.

8:30 p.m. Arrived home. Chia had got me a “dinner box” and so I ate it like a ravenous wolf. Alex was already asleep. So I’ll see him in the morning. I have the whole day with Alex tomorrow. Should be fun.

Leave a Reply

