October 6th, 2016 | Refrigerate Time

Back at the scooter repair shop. New hand grips needed.
New hand grip versus old. Old one was hard and slippery from 10 years of wear.
Oh my favorite. Spaghetti Bolognese.
Interstellar. If you love your family, then this movie is for you.

Kaohsiung. Taiwan. Cloudy. 27°C.

Thursday.

7:00 a.m. Woke to the distant sounds of police mans whistling and bicycle bells. Alexander had just woken up too. That was good we both had a little bit of a sleep-in. But it wasn’t long before he was wanting his milk to which I promptly made and gave him.

8:00 a.m. When we dropped Alexander into daycare this morning it was completely different to yesterday. He was quite happy to go in with his teacher. Yes he can adjust of very quickly which is good.

9:00 a.m. Time to do some housecleaning. I’m actually the only one who cleans the house, everyone else seems to be too busy. The first thing I have to do is sweep the floor. Then I vacuumed and then I mop the floor using a floor bleach. I use a floor bleach because of the cats. Goodness knows what kind of bacteria they can spread walking around during the day. As well as that the floor bleach also destroys any odors that may be lingering.

10:00 a.m. today being thursday I don’t start work until 5 p.m. I will leave home at 3 p.m. Before that time I intend to relax a bit. This will be a very long weekend for me. Tomorrow, Friday, I usually have the day off and then Monday next week is a national holiday. The national holiday to celebrate the establishment of the ROC ( Republic of China) I must note that this is the Old Republic of China not the People’s Republic of China the rules China.. It can be very confusing for people who don’t understand the situation. The ROC which governs Taiwan is the old Chinese government in Exile and it has occupied Taiwan for the last 60 years or so, since Japan surrendered. Taiwan was part of Japan and handed over to the United States who put the ROC as a caretaker government. When the Taiwanese no longer wanted the ROC to govern them and wanted their freedom back the ROC ruled by the Chinese Nationalist Party led a bloody  crackdown, killing over 20000 Taiwanese and the jailing of 140,000 others, followed by 38 years and 57 days of Martial law from the 19th of May 1949 to the 15th of July 1987. So, as far as I am concerned the ROC is an illegal occupation. Hopefully in time they can revoke the ROC (which is not recognized by many countries in the world) and officially establish the Taiwan Republic. Taiwan is a very independent country. It has its own Air Force, Navy, Army, police force, judiciary, legislature, presidency, financial system  etc. It is not recognized as a nation because of a diplomatic screw-up in the past with regard to the ROC occupation. But she will get there one day and finally be unshackled from the past mistakes.

10:30 am I had to go out and get a new USB cable for Chia’s digital drawing pad. Cost $49NT. She wants to start drawing again. She is quite a good digital artist. I guess maybe she’s hoping to sell designs on some kind of application platform that sells stickers.

10:50 a.m. The handle grips on my motorcycle are very slippery now. They’re old and weather worn and hurt the palms of my hands. So I’ve decided to replace them with brand new steering grips. The cost $350NT. Includes labor. I had thought about doing it myself but after watching the mechanic having to take apart the handle bar section of the scooter which took him about 10 minutes to do and dealing with some stubborn bolts, I decided it was very wise to leave it to a professional.

2:00 p.m. Was watching the movie Interstellar on my VR glasses, stopped for a break because it is a very long movie. So I went to make a cup of tea and stopped to see the body of a tiny kitten on the floor. It looked stillborn and it was cold. Lifeless. But it was clean. So I picked it up and placed it in a freezer bag and into an icebox. I will have to bury it tonight when I get home. Now I know why one of the female cats called Little Tiger had been meowing all morning. I guess it was morning. But the baby wasn’t there an hour ago, so I guess she dragged it from somewhere.

Anyway after.putting.the little body on ice. I had to go to work. I have to admit I had flashbacks of Chia’s mom lying in the refrigeration unit at her visitation when I put that kitten in the icebox.It was a bit disturbing. Was I recreating another life event?.No, it was realization that every one.of us.will be in that icebox one day. A sobering reminder to appreciate what we have right now. Life.

4:00p.m. Arrived at work to find one of my favorite foods spaghetti bolognaise.

5:00 p.m. to 6:30 p.m. today’s Young Learners class went very smoothly thank goodness. I used the Nerf gun game in this class as well. I wasn’t sure if they were too young to understand what to do but it worked perfectly. I thought perhaps they might misbehave and shoot the gun everywhere but they followed my instructions and waited  patiently for their turn. It was a very interesting teaching experiment.

8:30 p.m. dropped into the $100 steak house before I got home. Give ourselves a treat tonight, we have a long weekend ahead.

930 p.m. Buried the stillborn kitten in the front garden.

10:00 p.m. Time to sit back, relax and finish the movie I had started watching this afternoon, “Intersteller”. I recommend it to anyone who hasn’t seen it and want to know what life is all about. Family. “Interstellar” deals with space travel but it’s core message is about how important family is. Watch it sometime, okay?

Leave a Reply

