October 7th, 2016 | Super Cute to Superman.

Super Cute.
Superman. (1977).

Kaohsiung.Taiwan.

Friday. Cloudy. 25°c.

9:15 a.m. Just finished having breakfast of scrambled eggs on toast and a cup of tea. I took Alexander to daycare at 8 a.m. with no troubles. Except that we forgot to pack his water bottle. So, I received a phone call at about 9 o’clock. I had to hunt for his water bottle and deliver it. But do you think it was where I could find it easily ? No. I hunted high and low for that water bottle and eventually I discovered it hanging on the side of Alexander’s stroller. Dad must have taken Alexander out for a walk last night.

1:00 p.m. Pulled apart the old cat tree which had become a ghastly sight in the corner of the living room. Dumped it downstairs in a section for old furniture etc that needs to be disposed of or recycled.

5:00 p.m. Picked up Alexander from Daycare who was of course very happy to see me. It was raining a bit outside. Luckily though there is an undercover walkway from the downstairs entry to the next entry on the building which houses the daycare center.

530 p.m. Gave Alexander his bath. He enjoys taking a bath. Although he always has actually. But now he likes to use a plastic bowel and scoop up water, throwing it over the side of the bath.

6:00 p.m. Dinner time for Alexander as he watches an episode of Pokemon. A Japanese cartoon about friendly pocket monsters. Each Pokemon has a special magical power.

7:00 p.m. Chia is working late tonight. And I’m hungry. So I took Dad and Alexander out together and we had ramen beef noodles. Later on we did some shopping together at Carrefour to buy some groceries for the long weekend.

10:00 p.m. Daycare emailed some photos of Alexander during the mid Autumn festival. He looks super cute wearing a pomelo.

11:00 p.m. Movie time. Tonight Ive decided to watch a movie from my wonderyears. Superman II starring actor Christopher Reeve. I remember being in elementary school when these films came out. I wanted to be superman. As did most other kids I think. I used to stare out the classroom window imagining I could fly and rescuing a girl I had a crush on in my grade called Kerry-Lee. She actually looked a bit like Margot Kidder too, the actress that played Lois Lane. So it made my imagination soar. Although it vanished in a puff of smoke when it was my turn to answer a classroom question and the blackboard duster was hammering away. Fooey!

I still remember that poem Lois Lane recited on her first flight with superman that was used as the love theme: ” Can You Read My Mind”:

Can you read my mind? Do you know what it is you do to me?

Don’t know who you are. Just a friend from another star.

Here I am like a kid at a school. Holding hands with a God, I’m a fool.

Will you look at me quivering like a little girl shivering? You can see right through me.

Can you read my mind? Can you picture the things I’m thinking of? Wondering why you are. All the wonderful things you are.

You can fly, you belong to the sky.You and I could belong to each other.

If you need a friend, I’m the one to fly to. If you need to be loved. Here I am, read my mind.

Will you look at me quivering. Like a little girl shivering? You can see right through me.

If you need a friend, I’m the one to fly to.

If you need to be loved, Here I am, read my mind.

Read my mind.

Leave a Reply

