October 9th, 2016 | Life is a Rock

A beam of sunlight engulfs a building under a thick grey sky.
Alexander takes a look outside as he takes a break from his toys.
pacific_princess_1987
The original “Love Boat”, the Pacific Princess.(photo 1987)
589-large-30bb3825e8f631cc6075c0f87bb4978c
The modern  “Pacific Princess” Bigger & better.

Kaohsiung. Taiwan. Rain. 25°c.

Sunday.

7:00 a.m. It was a slightly unusual view from the bedroom window this morning. The sky was blanketed with a thick endless dark grey cloud. Yet somehow a large beam of sunlight had found a hole to the east and.lit up the surrounding buildings like a clear summer day. The photo I took.doesn’t capture it well, some things can only be directly experienced by the human eye. But it’s a reminder that life finds away to shine.

No wait a second you might say. Sunlight on a building is not life. But to me life is more than the biological. To me even a rock is a form of life. It may not be alive in the biological sense. But is not a rock made up of atoms, that are constantly spinning and weaving just like we are made up of atoms. They may be different atoms but they’re still spinning and weaving and hold the element that unites everything, energy. That is life as far as I am concerned. If it was not it would not exist at all. And one day that rock will evolve into a biological life form, like an animal or human. How ?  In hundreds of years that rock will become part of a plant, that plant will be eaten, which in turn will eventually become cells in an animal. Then in time that body will change, perhaps back into a rock. And the cycle of life continues. You see, everything is life. It makes sense to me anyhow. So, when people say: “You can’t get blood from a stone.” I say, You can, you just have to wait a bloody long time!

12:00 p.m. to 1:45pm Skyped mum this afternoon. Haven’t had a chat for 2 weeks. Last weekend she was busy baby sitting my younger sister children. I have two sister’s and one brother. Myself being the oldest sibling. In birth order they are: Eletha (41), Wendy (30) and Lawrey (28). I have probably got those ages wrong. I can’t remember their birth years. I’ve always had a problem remembering birthdays, wedding anniversaries, public holidays and phone numbers. Yes, even my own! The only date I do remember without thinking is August 6, 1945. 8:15 a.m. The atomic bombing of Hiroshima. Why? That’s an enigma that may be explained in my chronicle entry: “September 29th, 2016 | Snuff Dreams”.

2:00 p.m. to 5p.m. While Alexander played with his toys and watched children’s videos on his tablet I had to clean out the bedroom air conditioning unit and replace the filter. I by DIY filter papers and change them at least once a month. It keeps mostly dust and pollen out of the bedroom air.

4:00 p.m. I went out to buy some more baby formula for Alexander and some cough medicine for a Chia. Chia and Alexander have both come down with the flu. Fortunately I haven’t picked it up yet. Hopefully I can escape it. My immunity is pretty strong thanks to 10 years working as a teacher with kids who seem to get every sickness possible. When I first started teaching I seemed to pick up an illness every week for the first 3 months at least. Then after that I seemed to become more resistant against these illnesses. Although I did start doing a strict hygiene routine as well. Like I would never touch door knobs that children had touched without using a cloth or making sure to wash my hands after I touched the doorknob. It’s incredible how easily jobs can spread by surfaces from one person to the other. All that it takes is to touch an unclean surface that has bacteria and then touch your face, either your mouth or rub your eyes and then you’ve got it. It’s easy as that. Good hygiene is King.

5:30 p.m. Bought a takeaway $100NT steak dinner for Chia. I’m settling for some homemade hot dogs, a can of Ensure and a couple of cups of tea. I’m glad I discovered Ensure, but it was a pity it had to be through my mother-in-law who drank it before she passed away. Anyhow it helps me catch up on all the things nutrition that I may have missed in my busy on the go week.

7:00 p.m. I just remembered something mum and dad told me today about the voyage they would be taking from Australia to New Zealand on October the 26th, 2016. The cruise company is “Princess Cruises” which was made famous through a popular television series in the late 1970s and early 1980s called “The Love Boat”. So mum and dad will be setting sail on one of the ships that was used to shoot scenes on ‘The Love Boat’ series. They used several boats of Princess Cruises to make the television series. The most famous one, and the original was the ‘Pacific Princess’ which was decommissioned in 2012 after 42 years of service. She was built-in West Germany in 1970 and named “Sea Venture”. Later she was purchased by Princess Cruises in 1975 and named “Pacific Princess” mostly sailing the Caribbean. She served until 2002 and was sold to Viagens CVC and then Quail Cruises in 2008. However by this time she needed a lot of refitting and was aging too much. The cost to repair her was too expensive and an accident finally sealed her fate. As repairs where trying to be done compartments below the engines flooded. Two men were killed while trying to operate electrical pumps and 9 men injured from toxic exhaust gases. So she was then sold to a scrap yard in 2012 in Alila, Turkey.

Even the most famous have their demise eventually. Nothing lasts forever. However as far as I know she still sits in that scrap yard in Turkey to this very day along with many other old cruise liners waiting to be recycled. Then again, like the rock she too may live to be someone or something in the future. You never know.

Leave a Reply

