October 12th, 2016 | It matters

Alexander is up at 4 a.m.
Anli and Ariel. “AA batteries”. Full of energy.
Peggy plays with some paper cranes I made before class begins.
Alex puts his feet up to watch TV in the afternoon. What a life!

Kaohsiung. Taiwan.

Wednesday. Cloudy. 25°c.

4:00 a.m. Alex had a bit of a restless night he woke up at 4 a.m. demanding milk.

8:30 a.m. Went to take Alexander to doctor, but the clinic was closed today. The breakfast.shop was closed and there is no garbage collection today. I guess its one of those days.

9:00 a.m. Alexander doesn’t seem too bad so after some thought we decided to put him into daycare today. She is also taking the day off she is quite unwell as well. So at least if Alex does get a temperature again today and daycare call to pick him up, she will be able to collect him quickly.

10:30 a.m. Chia went to her doctor. She has a chest cough and she’s lost her voice today.

11:00 p.m.~12:30 p.m. Scooter to work. Fairly warm overcast day. Roads didn’t have much traffic, apart from the usual large trailer trucks carrying their rolls of steel. It surprises me that for an island the size of Taiwan that it churns out a lot of product and materials. Rolled steel , petroleum and concrete to name but a few. Plus being a leading manufacturer of computers in the world.

1:00 p.m. Did some grocery shopping at a local supermarket near my school. Got mostly some snacks.

2:00 p.m.~3:30 p.m. Elementary: grade 2 class.

4:45p.m. While waiting for my 5 o’clock class with Anli I decided to make some instant noodles. Rice noodles with some vegetables and sauce. So I filled the disposable noodle bowl with hot water from the ern in the staff room and took it back to my classroom. I set it down on my desk, then walked out to leave them stew for a few minutes. When I returned one of my students from another class was standing at my desk staring at the noodles. I could sense that she was quite hungry as she smelled the steamy air rising from the noodles. She looked at me. I could see that hunger in her eyes that she tried to mask with a laugh. She was also a very skinny girl which made the situation quite obvious. So I said ” Sit down. They’re for you. You can eat them.” She was surprised and said thank you without question. Then she sat down and ate those noodles very quickly. That was a good feeling. Caring about my students is just as important as educating them to me. If they know you care, they will want to learn. And hopefully will show the same kindess to others in the future. I’ve said it once, I’ve said it 1000 times. But I’ll say it again anyway. Everything you do matters.

5:00 pm ~ 6 p.m. Time for my private class with Anli, one of my favorite students. Today we’re doing some writing practice and a general review of her “Let’s Go” book 2 that she studies in her group class.

6 p.m. ~ 730 p.m. Time to head back home. No rain tonight, although it is overcast and the wind is cool.

8:00 p.m. Alexander was already fast asleep when I got home. Which is not surprising considering he woke up at 4 a.m. this morning! Chia had taken him to another children’s clinic this afternoon. They issued some stronger medication for his cough, fever and running nose to be taken 4 times per day for 3 days.

9:30 p.m. My eyes are feeling heavy. I’m done for the day. Time to hit the hay.

Leave a Reply

