October 14th, 2016 | Looney Tunes Bolognese

I guess Alex thinks his upside down house is now a bat cave?
Things felt a little weird today during my walk…
Two of the real Looney Tunes, Buggs Bunny and Daffy Duck. Daffy’s my favorite!
Tonight I cook my special spaghetti bolognese sauce (a 40 plus year old recipe)

Kaohsiung. Taiwan.

Clear skies. 25°c.

6:00 a.m. My hope for a sleep in was blown away. Alexander was awake and right on time. I guess once that internal clock is set there is not much you can do about it. Which is amazing really. Our body clock is called “The circadian biological clock” which is controlled by a part of the brain called the Suprachiasmatic Nucleus (SCN), a group of cells  that respond to light and dark detected by our eyes. When light is detected by the optic nerves of the eye, light travels to the SCN, signaling to the internal clock that it is time to be awake. The SCN sends a message to another part of the brain that control hormones, body temperature and other functions that play a role in making us feel sleepy or awake.  So, if you want to sleep then turn off your lights which includes your smart phone! And wait for the brains chemicals to start kicking in. Of course as long as that part of your brain is functioning properly, otherwise you’ve got some problems.

8:00 a.m. Chia got off to work as I took Alex to daycare. All went well. He has recovered from his cough and running nose. I hope it stays that way too! For a while anyway.

10:00 a.m. News on the US presidential candidates had grown controversial. Trump has been fighting allegations that he groped a couple of woman 30 years ago. Clinton is jumping on the issue to attack him. Your typical political mud slinging. Dirty politics.

5:00 p.m. picked up Alexander from daycare and after dropping his bags at home decided to go for a walk to Carrefour. Along the way I thought it feels strange walking today. Then I stopped and looked down at my feet. I was wearing two different kinds of shoes.” Too late now to go back home I’m halfway there.” I told myself. So I dared myself to walk in public for the next hour. No one seemed to notice thank God or they might think I was a bit of a looney tune. Then again we all need to be a little crazy sometimes.

Speaking of Looney Tunes, I have a small collection of those cartoon characters in Alexander’s bedroom. My favorite is Daffy Duck. I find I can relate to.this guy somehow. Whoo Hooo, whoo hoo…

9:00 p.m. after 20 minutes of preparation I finally got to cook my special spaghetti bolognese sauce I learned in high school from my Italian cooking teacher Ms Vella. I will serve it on De Cecco italian spaghettini No.11.

è buono!
Leave a Reply

