October 22nd, 2016 | A Tainan Monastery.

A windy morning stroll with Alexander.
At the Kaiyuan Monastery in Tainan city. The oldest monastery in Taiwan and still operating today as it did in the 1700s.
The Monastery courtyard front doors.
A brief history of the Monastery.
Think this is a Nazi symbol? No! This is an ancient Buddhist symbol of good fortune, prosperity, abundance and eternity. It is directly related to Buddha and can be found carved on statues on the soles of his feet and on his heart.  It is said that it contains Buddha’s mind. You will see it everywhere in Taiwan.
Just one of many hand crafted ceilings within the temple.
The afternoon sun shines across the tiles of a covered walkway.

Kaohsiung / Tainan. Taiwan.

Saturday. Windy. 29°c.

7:00 a.m. Alex is up and ready for his morning bottle.

8:30 a.m. Saturday morning walk with Alex to Carrefour. The air is very clear and clean. But also very windy. Clouds race across the sky above and leaves spin in circles across the streets.  I think when I was child I called them whiry-winds or was it willy willys? I can’t remember the name. Anyhow a dust devil would be similar I guess.

11:30 a.m. Set off to Tainan for private class with Mia. As I approached Tainan I noticed a large blanket of rain clouds settling above. I guess it will probably start raining later this afternoon. Which is okay. My scooter needs a good clean.

1:00 p.m. Lunch at Family Mart near Mia house. Menu is curry chicken on white rice and a can of coke. Haven’t had this for a while. Rain clouds are still hanging over Tainan, but it’s holding off for now.

1:30 p.m. I had some time to kill so I decided to visit an old monastery near my former residence in the north district in Tainan. The monastery was built in 1690 and it’s still operating as it was back then today.

230 p.m.~4:30 p.m. I went to Mia’s place early to sit down and take a break for a while. But then in the foyer I saw her mother getting some photocopies of the text we will be reading today which happens to be Huckleberry Finn by Mark Twain. So we went upstairs together and I started my lesson with Mia studying Huckleberry Finn. A few months ago it was Tom Sawyer. So it’s only natural that we continue on with this classic of Mark  Twain.

5:00 p.m. Headed back to Kaohsiung.

Leave a Reply

