October 25th, 2016 | From Silicon to Steak

20161025_130603
Alexander daydreaming as he sips tomato juice.
My first splash at the DIY electronics store. All this for $200NT ($7 USD)!
My 1st circuit. A 5mm LED, 1k ohm resistor, an on/off switch with cable and 9 volt battery. Total cost (excluding breadboard) $42NT ($1.30 USD). Great!
After racking up points, tonight the steaks on the house!

8:00 a.m. No.daycare for Alexander today. No work.for Chia. Today is another annoying national.holiday. It is Taiwan Retrocession Day (Chinese: 臺灣光復節; pinyin: Táiwān guāngfùjié) which is an annual observance and unofficial holiday in Taiwan to commemorate the end of Japanese rule of the island and its handover to the Republic of China forces on October 25, 1945. However I and millions of others do not believe this is a holiday of celebration. It marked the beginning of the occupational forces of the Republic of China’s nationalist government in exile on Taiwan. A day many would like to remove including the occupational government.

9:15 a.m. Pediatric clinic. Alexander needs a general health check and an immunisation shot today.

10:00 a.m.Next stop B&Q. This is a home improvement warehouse. DIY stores like this are very popular in Taiwan. We need to buy some new carpet tiles for Alexander’s room. He tore up the ones we had near the door entrance yesterday. They needed replacement anyway. He just wants it done quicker.

11:00 a.m. Alexander was knocked out when we returned home. He slept for about 1.5 hours.

12:45 p.m. Alexander had lunch.

1:00 p.m. I took Alexander for a walk to the local convenience store. We sat down and shared a bottle of tomato juice and crackers. Then we went across the road to Carrefour. We are killing some time to allow Chia to cut out and put down some carpet she bought for Alexander’s room. She doesn’t trust me to do.it, thinks I will screw it up. I probably would actually. Hahaha.

2:30 p.m. Chia had finished the carpet in Alexander’s room. She’d done a good job. Hopefully it will be a while before he attempts to pull it up!

3:30 p.m. I’ve got the afternoon free. Chia is going to watch Alexander. So, I decided to do some DIY electronics shopping. I spent 2 and a half hours looking through the store and selecting components for my projects. As the components are cheap I bought several of one type as they can be used in future projects too. My shopping bill was just over $200 NT. Cheaper than I expected as it included start up items like wire, battery connectors and a standard breadboard (a reuseable circuit board for experiments).

6:30 p.m. After going to the 100 steakhouse quite frequently the past two months I had racked up some points on my customer card. So I decided it was time to cash in. A free steak dinner.

10:00 p.m. After sorting out all my electronic components and putting them in a partitioned box I bought at Carrefour I made my 1st electronic circuit. A red LED with an on/off switch powered by a 9 volt battery. I know, it’s not rocket science, but I think if you start with the basics and expand your knowledge from there you avoid trouble later on.

I shall let that little moment of fun bounce around in my head for the night. And then tomorrow Circuit No.2!

Leave a Reply

