October 26th, 2016 | Halloween Fun

Jean (School receptionist), Deborah (the Boss) and Me (Ironman).
Ironman is everywhere.
Ironman and Batman.
My 2nd circuit took longer but was successful. A flashing LED.

Kaohsiung. Taiwan.

Wednesday. Clear Skies. 31°c.

6:00 a.m. As usual Alexander was up early before the rest of us. I woke to his small hand shaking my shoulder and the other one offering me a Samsung Tab 2. He wanted me power it on. Sure, No problem. I have thought recently perhaps he is using it too much and will become a zombie. However I have noticed that it is limited in its appeal thank goodness. After playing with the ABC interactive games or watching some children’s videos after about 10 minutes he ditches it and goes to play with his toys, which is great to know. Perhaps because it is that I don’t deny him access to the Tablet that he doesn’t have the need to continually use it. He knows he can use it anytime and therefore uses it less. That’s my theory anyway.

8:00 a.m. Alexander starts new class today at daycare. He is now in middle class. There are 3 levels. Today he will have a different teacher. Although his former teacher is near by. In middle class they are taught more self-dependence. Mostly to try to feed themselves. So Alexander has been practicing to use a spoon to eat and seems to have got the nack if it fairly well. I am guessing, but they might start toilet training them too in middle class. Now that would be a great new skill! Ha.

11:30 a.m. Time to leave for work. Looking forward to today and tomorrow more than usual. Why? Today I get to dress up as Iron Man! Yes, we will have Halloween parties today and tomorrow. Last year I was an Imperial stormtrooper from the original Star Wars and the year before that a pirate. In Australia when I was growing up Halloween was rarely mentioned, let alone celebrated. I only heard of it when I saw it in movies like E.T the extra terrestrial. And have resisted having anything to do with it for years. But it’s hard to escape in Taiwan which is greatly influenced by American culture. So, I surrendered to its festivities and now enjoy parading around as a fictional character (usual movie based)  with my students.

2:00 p.m. ~ 5:30 p.m. Halloween with Elementary class grade 3, Samuel GEPT class and then private class with Anli. Dressed in my Ironman costume throughout.

7:00 p.m. Arrived home early tonight. Took a photo with Alexander dressed as Batman and myself as Ironman.

9:00 p.m. I am wondering how mum and dad are going. Today around lunch time they would have boarded their cruise ship in the port of Brisbane. I guess they would be several hundred kilometers out at sea by now. I bet they are excited. Perhaps just finished their first cruise dinner. Hope they are having a great time.

10:00 p.m. Time to assemble Circuit No.2. This next circuit was to make a LED flash continuously. It was slightly more complicated and took longer to assemble, but only because it was difficult to see component numbers and holes on the board clearly. They are far too small for my blurred close vision to see correctly even with my reading classes on. I will definitely invest in a workbench magnification device next pay. But to my surprise the project was still a success on the 1st test. Yay!

Leave a Reply

