November 16th, 2016 | A bright spark


Tainan. Taiwan  

Wednesday. 26°c. Fairly Clear.

8:00 a.m. The smog seems to have cleared up a bit today. Tainan seems to be better than Kaohsiung at the moment.

Alexander was no trouble to take to daycare this morning. Though I did notice the teachers in his classroom seem to have rotated. Younger teachers today. Maybe that is the issue. Alex likes some of them, other’s he doesn’t.

1:30 p.m. Arrived in Tainan for my Grade 3 class. We are starting a new nook today. Thank goodness. Had to review their old books quite a few times to make sure they ‘got it’ properly. We will start “Let’s Go” book 3.

Having some instant.noodles for lunch. As I was.opening.the.packet some students.told.me.not.to.eat.it. They.said.its.zombie food. smart. but.im.darn.hungry.and.no.time to get.anything.before.class.

5:00 p.m. One of my 7 year old students named Ariel walked into my classroom during break and was very curious what I was doing with a bag full of resistors. I said I am decoding their numbers using a special colour code. She asked if she vould help. I said “sure.” And within minutes of explaining how to decode the resistors she was speeding along, waiting for me to write down the values she was decoding. OMG. What a bright spark for 7 years old!

5:30 p.m. class with student Murphy. Had an interesting conversation about Electronics. Murphy’s father works at the Innolux LCD flat panel manufacturing plant. He is the plant manager. Innolux make the LCD screens which other companies patches to put in their TVs or computers or phone.

8:30 p.m. Arrived home with a bit of an aching back. All the riding on the scooter catches up with me sometimes.3 hours of scooter riding a day is probably going to do that!

Alexander was sound asleep. So time for some TV, bath and then bed.

Leave a Reply

