December 4th, 2016 

Good Morning breakfast.

Average wallet: Mine has a few small $1s (they buildup fast and can get annoying heavy), some $10s and a $1000 note. The $1000 is equal to about $30USD.
My new DIY computer desk already in use.

Kaohsiung. Taiwan.

Sunday. 20°c. Cool, partly cloudy.

730 a.m. Laundromat. A double load this morning. All of Alexanders daycare clothes and bedding plus a weeks supply of my own clothes and bedding.$70NT
7:48 a.m. Just a few seconds walk from the laundromat is the Good Morning breakfast bar. Where of course I’m going to have some breakfast. Toasted tuna sandwiches and hot milk tea.$75NT

8:22 a.m. Drying time. Now the laundry is fresh and clean it’s time to dry them. Our clothes line at home doesnt get direct sunlight because it’s on the back verandah which faces inwards to the building centre courtyard..So they need machine drying. Two loads in a large gas heated tumble drier for 30mins on high is $60NT. Well worth the coinage. I say coinage becsuse all Taiwan dollar denominations from $1 to $50 are coins ($1, $5, $10,$50). Notes start at $100 then, $200 (rare to see) $500, $1000 and $2000 (also rare). An average persons wallet will usually contain : A few $1,5 and 10 dollar coins and a few $100s and maybe 2 $1000 dollar notes. Mostly people use $100s. It seems to be the most convenient and it keep rhings light until you get change of course!

9:00 a.m. Chia and Alexander are out visiting friends today, so I have some free time to do a few things. 

930 a.m. Went to.Carrefour and bought a DIY computer table, a reasonable size allowing me to put my new printer and some of my electronics boxes on shelves. It was on sale of course. I never buy full price. And I’ve had my eye on it forva couple of weeks. They just slashed 600NT off the original price. So I’ll grab it today. Carrefour regularly put Items on sale, but they don’t stay on sale for long. So it’s best not to put off a purchase for something you want that’s on sale thinking “Ah I’ll get it next week” because generally It won’t be there! 

10 a.m. to 1200p.m. Spent the morning carefully assembling my computer desk. In the past I’ve tended to rush DIY projects, but they usually don’t turn out that great! So today while I have time, I will take my time and follow the directions for assembly with absolute precision. And guess what, it.turned out great! I’m glad I took my time. It’s a nice looking solid bit if furniture. And everything I wanted to put on it fits great. I like it when a plan comes together.

12:10 p.m. Skyped Mum and Dad for almost 2 hours. They told me my.sister Wendy’s second baby is almost due and my brother Lawrey took.off yesterday.on an ocean cruise to Fiji. Wow, so cool. Lawrey has been in serious study mode for over a year doing a course in psychology. Now hes talking a break. Going going human nuts to coconuts. Hahaha.

2p.m. Went to collect my rechipped printer. Which is an EPSON Office Printer/Scanner/Copier/Fax machine. Brought it home and it works great. Now I dont gave to buy new ink cartridges anymore. Just buy a bottle of refill ink of the colour I need and pour it into the new ink tanks they attached on the side. Press a switch to reset the printers chip and hey presto, Ready to print like a maniac. Cool. 

5:00 p.m. Alexander and Chia returned from their day trip. Looking tired. So glad I did not go. I travel everyday to work. Traveling on the weekend would just unhinge me. Ha. No thanks.

8:00 p.m. Alexander is fast asleep along with his mother. So I’m going to watch a bit of TV with a cuppa tea and some cookies.

Leave a Reply

