February 10th, 2017

Kaohsiung. Clear skies. 15°c.

Friday.

8:00 a.m. Dropped Alexander into daycare.

10 a.m. The weather has changed quite dramatically today. It’s quite frigid and you can’t go outside without some good warm winter clothes unless you want to turn into a popsicle.

So I opted to stay inside and work on my next electronic kit no.3. I found myself having to get up a few times to make a nice hot cuppa tea to warm me up. There is no heating in this house, although it’s not too bad. But wind is blowing a bit strong today and forcing cold air through the house.

Today is my day off. Yesterday I had my last electronics class for the winter break period. Next week students go back to school to start new grades. I think this first trial run of the class went reasonably well. The kids seemed to enjoy it and the language wasn’t too difficult to understand. Though next time (hopefully for summer break) I will probably need extra time, as some projects ran overtime, especially during the troubleshooting period if mistakes have been made in wiring. With electronic circuitry being on such a small scale it’s very easy to wire something incorrectly if you don’t scrutinize it properly.

12:30 p.m. Meet Chia at her office and we went to have lunch together at a nearby lunch stop.

2:30 p.m. Rummaged through some old storage containers and gathered some old “Hello Kitty” merchandise that I bought years ago that has never been opened. Chia wants to try and sell it online.

3:30 p.m. Cat jumped on my work desk and knocked my LED lamp on the floor. Now it doesn’t work. So I pulled it apart and discovered a wire had broken from a soldering point. I dont want to buy a new one so I’m going to have to repair it.

345p.m. Went to my local electronic store and bought a soldering iron, stand and some solder.

4:30 p.m. Returned home at soldered the broken wire back together in the lamp. Worked like a charm. Great. The soldering iron only cost $150 NT but a new LED lamp would have cost over 900NT. So I saved myself a bit of money.

5:17 p.m. picked up Alexander from daycare.

9:00 p.m. Alexander has gone to sleep. TV time. Going to catch up on a bit of detective drama. Criminal Minds. A TV series about a group of FBI agents that usually investigate serial killer crimes.

1:12 a.m. Woken up by large earthquake. Reports says it hit near Tainan, Kaohsiung boarder. Magnitude 5.6 . 5 mins later there was loud explosion outside. Sounded like perhaps a satellite dish fell of roof, see what it was in the morning.

Leave a Reply

