March 9th, 2016 | Children of the Corn

A corn field in Tainan. I travel along this farm road as a detour to get into the city. Nice and quiet and no traffic.

130p.m.
Departed for Tainan. Going earlier today as I have a new student. Ariel from my Grade 2 class is going to do private tuition with me starting today. Which is great. Some extra hours but with a highly intelligent student who is like Anli. Someone you  can have great conversations with in variety of topics. Plus they love learning, which makes things much easier.

3:30pm to 4:30 p.m. Ariels first 1 on 1 class. She did well. We learnt about different types of daily food and how to ask for something when you are hungry. Then put it all together in a roleplay situation for someone going to a market and asking for an item and paying for it. Role playing is a lot of fun for kids. A great way to learn.

Student Ariel plays shop.

4:30 p.m. to 5:00 p.m. I have started assembling a small mobile robot. I’m using my spare time screw to assemble it. Is a bit of trouble shooting to deal with as some things don’t always work as you expect. But by Sunday I think I should have a fairly good working model. I’m going to call it Ed. Ed the robot will feature different things from my previous Electronics kits as well as being an autonomous robot able to Rove around your home and avoid obstacles etcetera. Ed will be upgradable with different kinds of fishes to enable it to do different kinds of things. It will also use my micro processes PC or programming like some of the robots out at the moment which can become very complicated. Ed will be your basic nuts and bolts electronic machine that responds to feedback. The classic robot.

5:00 p.m. to 6:30 p.m. Young learns class. I have two new students in this class or brother and sister. But I have also lost two students because they had moved north to Taipei. The father got a job in Taipei so the whole family had to move. Go to do what you gotta do.

8:30 p.m. arrived home to find Alexander was still awake. He’s not going to sleep till quite late now and is waking up rather early too. Must be going through some kind of adjustment period.

10:00 p.m. watch the weekly TV show called Fresh Off The Boat. About a Taiwanese family that moved to the United States in the 1980s. It’s a family comedy I guess based on a true story I believe. Quiet amusing to watch. Even though I am not Taiwanese physically, I do think of myself as being Taiwanese mentally. So I can relate to the situations in this TV show rather well.

Leave a Reply

