April 5th, 2017 | Back to Work

Wednesday. 24°c. Clear skies.

Kaohsiung. Taiwan.

Yesterday was Tomb Sweeping day. Chia’s moms side of the family gather at Great Grandmothers grave and pay tribute with flowers and prayer.

8:00 a.m. Dropped Alexander into daycare. This is his last month in daycare. His next adventure in education and socialization will be Preschool. However that will have to wait for a few years. It will be home education after May. Chia has resigned from her job. The pressure from bad managers has gotten to bursting point with stress levels way up. So she will stay home and take care of Alexander. But that of course hands the pressure over to me. Ugh. Something I honestly didn’t want. Hopefully I can pick up more sales with my electronic business.

2:00 p.m. Elementary Grade 3. It was good to be back at work.  This is probably the only school I have enjoyed working at. My boss is great and the students are charming, except for the odd one or two that can rattle you sometimes. But overall it’s been a pleasure to work here. Although nothing lasts forever. My fear is that one day it may not be here. 

Over the past few years student numbers have been in decline everywhere. Taiwan is suffering from a rapidly expanding aging population, with one of the lowest birthrates in this part of the world. So there is an over supply of schools and an under supply of students to fill them. To add further pressure are the foreign tourists who come here on vacation only to take up teaching positions, taking up positions often at low wages (because they don’t know they’re being taken advantage of or they simply lack  the skill and experience ) and thus placing further stress on a finite job pool. So, the lack of future teaching positions is one of the reasons I’ve been trying to diversify and get my electronic business up and running. I need an emergency future fund!

7:30 p.m. Finished class and headed back to Kaohsiung. I will get a few components before I go home. I am now packaging Kit No 3 and will put it on sale starting this coming weekend. 

Leave a Reply

