April 15th, 2017 | Bullets & Bullet Trains

The North Korean Looney leader.

Kaohsiung, Taiwan.
Saturday. 23°c.

6:30 a.m. Alex has just finished his double bottle feeding of milk. And now busy playing with one of many toys, a toy piano. Which he has taken a preference to lately. Perhaps he has a musical ear as they say.

Last night I went to the bullet train station and reserved a ticket for Wednesday (when mum and dad will arrive) from Tainan to Taipei, Taoyuan station. By getting the ticket early I save 10%. Which at these prices amount to several hundreds saved. I can’t unfortunately get my parents tickets yet as I have no idea what time we will actually get back to the station from the airport. And if I chanced it and we missed the return bullet train then thats several 1000 down the drain. So better to play (or pay) it safe. The bullet train to Taoyuan will take about 90 mins travelling at a top speed of 300 kilometers per hour (186 mph). From there I will take a 15 min shuttle bus to the international airport. And then wait for mum and dad to clear customs and grab their luggage. On a Wednesday I wouldn’t think there will be too many people travelling, so they will probably get through fairly quickly.

I still need to find a suitable hotel for their 1st night here. Just so they can relax from the 9 hour flight and then 90 minute or so trip from the airport to Kaohsiung. On Thursday after a sleep in at the hotel they will come stay here at home. Still need to make some adjustments to their room (mostly packing away junk) ha!

11:30 a.m. Headed off to Tainan for my class with Mia.

11:50 a.m. Scooter started stalling at traffic lights. So I took it to a nearby gas station. Perhaps I was running on fumes. I filled the tank. But it continued stalling when the revs.per min got too low. something new is going wrong. Damn. I don’t have the spare cash to sort this problem. I will have to keep reving it at stop lights. Now I am a rev head? Ha.

12:00 p.m. Stopped for lunch at a 7-11 convenient store. Two sushi rolls. That did the trick.

1:00 p.m. Arrived in Tainan in surprisingly good time. So I stopped by Starbucks for 30 minutes to unwind before class. I didn’t order anything, just sat in one of their assortment of semi comfortable sofas and relaxed in the air conditioning. Starbucks Coffee in Taiwan is usually a popular hangout for students studying. A meeting place for business people with notebooks doing presentations to clients and meeting spot for foreigners teaching locals private English. Me. None of the above. I’m just resting in the free air conditioning. Ha!

1:20 p.m. Was just reading current news about troubles with the north Koreans. The U.S. and other nations believe their madman president might try to launch a nuclear missle to celebrate the birthday of the countries founder. So the U.S. has sent a carrier strike group into the region. Hopefully its all hot air. If something broke out not only is that bad for Korea as the north and south would cease to exist it might screw up flight schedules over the following days. If north Korea delays my mums visit I would like to go to shoot the crazy guy myself. 

2:00 p.m. Today with Mia we almost reached the end of Bram Stokers Dracula. A shortened version but nevertheless still a good read. 

4:30 p.m. Headed home. Nice afternoon sun all the way home. Got home while it was still light.

10:00 p.m. After putting Alexander to bed Chia and I decided to watch a pay per view movie called “Hackshaw Ridge”, a bibliographical war drama film about the WWII experience of a Medic named Desmond Doss who bravely served during the battle of Okinawa yet refused to kill anyone. He became the first American man in history to receive the Medal of Honor without firing a shot. A bloody but amazing story of how we can make a difference.

12:00 p.m. And with that, time to rest.

Leave a Reply

