April 19th, 2017 | Arrivals

Taiwan HSR ticket. Bullet train from Tainan to Taoyuan. Got this one early so was given a 10% discount.

8:00 a.m.Alex was surprised to see me up earlier than him. I was too hyped for mum and dad’s arrival I think. So I was up early, mostly cleaning the floor and giving the furniture a buff. Ha.

11:30 a.m. Off to Tainan early. It is a very sunny and bright day. Clear sky. Just perfect, although slightly too hot for me. Perfect for the two tourists arriving from Australia today. However I have no idea what the weather is like in the north of Taiwan. Probably raining or humid.

2:00 to 3:30 p.m. Elementary class grade 3. After the basic lesson was done I also did the paper Kangaroo activity with this class. Anli will be surprised no doubt to hear my mum and dad are arriving in Taiwan today. She sometimes ask about them. Hopefully within the next two weeks they can drop by the school with me and experience a ESL class. At this moment in time their plane will be flying over Papua New guinea and heading towards the Philippines.

3:42 p.m. Caught the shuttle train from Tainan railway station to the Tainan HSR. $25NT. Need to catch a local train to Tainan’s bullet train station. Most people just call it HSR. High Speed Rail. Phonetically sounds like”Gao Tee Air” which means high speed in Taiwanese. Mum and dad are now over the Philippines. How do I know? I am using a flight tracking service on my phone. Useful.

I Rode my scooter to Tainan train station. I will leave it parked there overnight and pick up it tomorrow on my way to work. Of course I will need to catch a commuter train from Kaohsiung to Tainan tomorrow afternoon to do that.

4:41 pm On board the HSR and heading north to Taoyuan Station in Taipei. From there I will take an airport shuttle bus to the International Airport.

6:18 p.m. Arrived dead on time at Taoyuan station. Then transfered via shuttle bus to Terminal . Shuttle bus was $30 one way. There is also an MRT connection from Taoyuan to the airport, but not as cheap. And I’m counting the pennies.

7:20 p.m. After walking around aimlessly (I got lost in ther airport) I finally found them. Actually I sropped to rest by a chair and looked down to see my dad’s face looking up at me. Wow, totally on target. “Hello stranger!” I Then turned about face to see mum behind me. She had been tailing me! Ha. I’m as blind as a bat!

At the arrivals area, Taoyuan International Airport.

9:00 After some hugs, collecting the luggage, buying some bottled water we caught the bullet train back to Kaohsiung.  Unfortunately there was not much too see but streaks of lights wizzing by.

10:25 p.m. We arrived at Kaohsiung, Zuo ying station and caught a taxi to the 85 building. Taxi from Zuoying to Skytower was $210NT.

10:45p.m. Hotel check-in. The counter staff were ready for us. I guess not many people check-in so late. Got the room card and a couple of breakfast coupons then headed to the elevator.

Mum and Dad in their Skytower hotel room. 1st night in Taiwan.

11:00 p.m. After helping set a comfortable Air conditioning tempreture and finding an English language television channel for them, I headed home, by taxi. Good night.

Leave a Reply

