June 15th, 2017

Kaohsiung. Taiwan.

Thursday. Cold. Rainy.

Alex watches Scooby-Doo while eating vegemite toast.

3:48 a.m. Haven’t been able to sleep tonight. Something is keeping my mind awake.I should be able to considering it’s perfect sleeping weather. The plum rains began today as I had forcast. It is pouring cold hard rain outside now. Everyone except me is fast asleep in their cosy beds. Hmm. So I went to the local 7-11, which is open 24 hours and got myself a 800ml Busch Beer at 5% Should knock me out within 30 minutes I hope.

Last night, just a few hours ago actually I stopped by my electronic store to get some more chips for Kit No 2 to discover the particular chip I use has been discontinued. Wholly short circuits. I quickly searched the internet on my smart phone to find an alternative chip that would work with my Kit projects. I found one but it was 3 times the price of my current and discontinued one. Bugger. I bought one anyway to test it out, as I will still need an alternative chip later. I’ll just have to raise the price of my kit.

Then I decided to drop into another Electronics store, that is not as popular. I thought I’d try my luck to see if they had any of the discontinued chip I currently use. With awesome luck they had some. The young kid serving behind the counter probably had no idea of the gold he possessed. So I decided to buy the lot. All 51 chips! I’m sure they’ll be scratching their heads as to why I bought them all and when they reorder the penny will drop. Ha. Anyhow that will keep me going for a while, I don’t have to worry about future orders for a while. But I will now have to rewrite my kit manual for the future replacement.

4:01 a.m. That beer is starting to kick in now. Thank goodness. Try to sleep.

7:24 a.m. Alexander is up and so am I. Got about 3 solid hours of sleep. Though could definately use more.

8:58 a.m. Alexander is using the words “Off” and “On” as he switches the light switches around the house.Oh brother it’s like a disco.

10:00 a.m. While Alex played with a couple of toys in the living room I sat in front of the computer screen typing away the final set of assembly instructions for EDGAR. All I need now is a couple of photos and the DIY manual is complete. I shoud be able to print a copy by Saturday. Then I will proof it by following the instructions and building a fresh EDGAR making sure everything works. Then if all is good, just a matter of creating some packaging labels and then I can start selling it, by Wednesday the 21st of June. And see how it goes.

2:00 p.m. Arrived in Tainan after a slow ride through the downpour of rain. Still raining as I write this. Sitting in my warm dry classroom with windows that look out at the wet streets 3 floors below. I’m at school early due to the rain factor. My first class is with Ariel at 3:30 p.m. Time for a cuppa tea.

3:30 p.m. After Ariels class, last night’s sleepless session caught up with me. I suddenly felt dreadfully tired. So I took a nap.
5:00 p.m. Having woken refreshed I was ready for the tiny terrors of the next and last class for today. 

6:30 p.m. I am so happy I bought that new raincoat outfit a week or so ago. It is comfortable, bright for safety and kept me bone dry today. So it’s a pleasure to put it back on and head home. And it’s raining cat’s and dogs now. So I’m definately needing something good.

8:00 p.m. Arrived in Kaohsiung but detoured to the electronic store on the way home. I made an order for some parts the other day that I’ve paid for. Just need to pick them up. As it was still pouring rain outside I did some extra window shopping after I collected my order.

8:45 p.m. Everyone’s asleep. Time to relax and watch a movie. Tonight’s flick: 

Passengers (2016). The synopsis: On a routine journey through space to a new home, two passengers, sleeping in suspended animation, are awakened 90 years too early when their ship malfunctions. As Jim and Aurora face living the rest of their lives on board, with every luxury they could ever ask for, they begin to fall for each other, unable to deny their intense attraction until they discover the ship is in grave danger. With the lives of 5,000 sleeping passengers at stake, only Jim and Aurora can save them all.

This was an enjoyable movie. Better than I orginally thought. Nice.

Leave a Reply

