July 15th, 2017 | There’s a track winding back…

Very happy to see each other again. Myself and student Mia.

12:04 p.m. Chia had just dropped me off at Kaohsiung train station. So now I wait on platform 3A for a commuter train to Tainan. I have my private class with Mia at 2pm today. I haven’t seen her for 3 weeks and last Monday I may not have ever saw her again, had I not be wearing a crash helmet. So this is a special occasion I think. Seeing my oldest and longest student again. A new start.

12:12 p.m. The local train arrived right on time. Got a seat in the last car and relaxed in the air-conditioned carriage. I’ve not done this for a very long time, going to work by train. The last time was probably 1 and a half years ago. The train is good but I chose riding my scooter to save money. A train ride one way from Kaohsiung to Tainan is between $68 and $105 nt. Depending upon the service you want. The cost of a scooter ride is about $23NT. So I chose cheap. But what have I saved after all that effort? Absolutely nothing, thanks to the accident. So I have to consider perhaps, foot scooter > train > foot scooter as a future alternative. Even better would be an electric foot scooter. I’ll have to see how things go on the manual foot scooter, when I recover the use of my left hand then I can consider the electric version, which would be faster and less strenuous. I’d say they’re around 9000 to 15000 for a good one. Safer than a motor scooter like the one I crashed. We’ll see.

1:50 p.m. Arrived at Mias. It was pouring rain. When I sat down in the foyer of her building a familiar face passed me. A young girl waved. It was a former student from my school. I am used to seeing many students in school uniforms, so it took a few long seconds for it to register who I was looking at in casual clothing. It was one of my 1st year students Cindy. Embarrassingly enough she recognized me first and waved as she walked by with her mother, I quickly responded with a counter wave, covering up my slowness in identification. Maybe we shall meet again. Sure is a small world.

2:00 pm to 4:00pm 1st Summer holiday class with Mia. She seemed very happy to see me again. I guess the accident came as a bit of a wake-up call. You never know when you see someone if that will be the last time. So every time you should make it your best time. Anyhow Mia had lots to talk about. She had been away on a sea cruise with her family to Nagasaki, Japan and then across to South Korea. Sounded like a great adventure for her. But somehow it’s always good to be home.

5:00 p.m. Stopped by a McDonald’s restaurant on the way back to the Tainan train station. I just had the craving for some french fries. But that’s all. I’ll avoid eating one of those industrial burgers again. My dad calls them bricks. And they pretty much are. Ha!

5:45 p.m. Local train back to Kaohsiung. Thank goodness it has stopped raining.

6:40 p.m. Arrived at Kaohsiung main train station and jumped on the underground service called the MRT.

8:00 p.m. I had put it off before the accident, when I was very able. Now it’s crunch time I have got to do it or I’ll be clothless! I’m at the laundromat! I used a clothes basket and secured it to my metal Ikea trolley then walked. It was a slow, but steady walk to the laundromat. My right arm is definitely going to get workout during the time I am without the left. Though I can’t over do it. As about 4 years ago I injured the 7th vertebrae of my spine in a Thai massage center in Taipei. The ones that walk on you and use very hard hands. Well it created a dislodged disc and it absolutely had me in agony. Worse pain than what I had felt in my recent scooter accident. Much worse. The slipped disc created paralysis in my right arm and I had to go through 3 months of traction work and electro therapy to get things good again. So I started depending upon my left arm to carry things and do daily chores. And my left arm and hand became as equal as my right. Now it’s only the right and I don’t want a repeat of that saga before. So I must go easy on it.

11:30 p.m. Clothes are done. Movie has begun….

Leave a Reply

