July 21st , 2017 | Five Star Friday

A mid priced hotel room in Kaohsiung, near Train station. About$50 AUD per night. Breakfast. Wifi. Cable TV and air conditioning of course.
The room is spotless. My kick scooter rests against the wall.
A nice relaxing warm bath tonight with free bath salts should do some healing. But not my left arm of course!

12:00 p.m. Set off with my kick scooter to the local MRT station. Caught a 12:15 underground train to Zuoying train station. Which only takes about 10 minutes.Then it’s two  escalator rides up to the main train platforms going north. To help speed up my travel and transfer process I bought a refillable IC travel card called Easy Card. I can swipe it and pass quickly through entry and exit gates on the MRT (Underground Train) and TRA (Normal Trains) stations.And can use it at convenience stores to purchase food and drink. I can also recharge it at any of those locations. Very handy. Saves time without having to fiddle around gathering correct change and much lighter to carry!

12: 45 p.m. I have just boarded a train to Tainan from Zuoying station. Not too many people out today and the weather isn’t quite as hot as it was yesterday. In Taipei city at the northern end of Taiwan it was a scorching 38°c. My goodness, it wasn’t that bad in Kaohsiung. Another reason I prefer living in the south. Extreme weather isnt so bad here.

1:00 p.m. Quarter of the way to Tainan. My arm has been aching a little for a few days. But bearable. The medication after the operation ran out Wednesday morning. I have been having ibuprofen in suspension before sleeping at night to help lessen the aching. It’s actually left over medicine from Alexander’s former doctor visits. Kept in the fridge and no where near it’s expiry date. So why waste it.

1:30 p.m. Arrived at Tainan and scooted off to Mia’s place. A good half of the journey was on slightly slopped roads, so I just let gravy do most of the scooting. But will need to go a different way back as I would be going up hill. Not good. But there is a flat alternative way back.

2:00 p.m. Arrived about 8 minutes early. Mia’s class today was studying some alternate ways to save on using fossil fuels. Mostly focusing on solar powered inventions.

4:30 p.m. Finished at Mia’s and kick scooted to my medical supplies shop. Need some pain killers. I also bought a small can of liquid Ensure. I was down on energy after that scoot. Which was about 2 kilometers. Phew! I cant keep this up. I feel like I’ve been through a tropical jungle.

5:00 p.m. Checked out a small bicycle shop between medical store and train station. Ouch. Expensive. I was checking out prices on electric bicycles. Almost the same price as rideon electric scooters. No thanks. I was actually looking for electric kick scooters. But they had none.

5:30 p.m. Caught a commuter train back to Kaohsiung.

5:50 p.m. Half way back to  Kaohsiung it started raining very heavily outside. Hopefully It’s just a spot shower, what I call rain in only one particular area. It’s probably got a weather term, but stuffed if I know what it’s called.

6:20 p.m. Arrived back in Kaohsiung. It had been raining here too but was finished. I was feeling very tired and drained. I started thinking about checking into a hotel for the night. I honestly haven’t been able to rest since I got home from the hospital. So I am going to give myself a break fo just one evening, night and morning. I hope it doesn’t sound selfish but I need a peaceful rest for at least one night and morning. So I’m going to get a cheap room somewhere.

6:50 p.m. I didn’t have to go far from the train station before I spotted a hotel to stay in the night. It was around the corner from the electronic store! Perfect! So I called in and they had one room still available at a reasonable price. I was very surprised to see the quality of the room. Gets a 5 star from me and complete with a breakfast in the morning. Lovely.

7:30 p.m. Took a long refreshing bath with salts. My body just faked away. I enjoyed that. I’ll have another one in the morning.

7:50 p.m. There was a movie on the TV that looked interesting. It was half way through. So I laid back to watch the end of it. Then I realized I’d seen it before and knew the ending. Off with that.

8:30 p.m. As I was only around the corner from the electronic store I decided to do some window shopping and cataloging future parts.

9:30 p.m. As usual I spent a good hour looking through the electronics store. Lots of tempting technology. But I walked out spending a mere 55NT. A round about $2.50 AUD. Mostly parts that I will use on EDGAR type 2. I originally had hoped to have Type 2 ready for August. But the motorscooter accident ruined those plans. Without the current use of my left hand I can not do any work on Edgar 2. Trying to put together tiny electronics electronic components with 2 hands is tricky at times. But with one hand. Nope. So I can only now plan modifications and when the left hand is back in action then catch up.

10:00 p.m. Watched a movie on the hotel room TV. Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles. Good grief. Glad it was free. Not that great.

After I check out tomorrow morning I am going to take the MRT to the suburb where I hope my scooter is still parked and check it’s condition. I have a brand new raincoat locked under the seat. I want to at least salvage that if nothing else. It was a good quality one that I don’t particularly want to buy again. So that’s the mission.

11:00 p.m. A new movie has started on the HBO channel. Jason Bourne. Now that’s more like it. I shall watch and fall asleep. Good  night.

7:30 a.m. (Saturday 22 July)

Hotel breakfast and fresh coffee. Complimentary. Good!

Woke refreshed and had a nice breakfast. Now I will set off to where I had the accident and try to retrieve my motorscooter. See what happens.

9:30 a.m. (Saturday Morning)

I walked slowly along the street where I had the accident, not sure of the exact location. I couldn’t see my motor scooter and nothing looked familar. I stopped and was about to turn back when I spotted a familar licence plate under a covered alleyway. It was my scooter! And amazingly enough intact with some scratches and bent side mirror. The woman who had put it there chose a good spot out of the sun and rain. Thankyou whoever you were! I started the engine. It started instantly. I was surprised.

My motor scooter was parked safety out of the weather in a covered alley.

So after riding my kick scooter for a week with one hand I wondered how I would go on my motor scooter. It was easier than the kick scooter. I was confident enough if I rode it about 5 to 10 kmph I could get it back home. So I loaded my kick scooter onto a carry hook on the motor scooter and rode slowly back home. I made it in about 1 hour. Thank goodness. Mission Accomplished!

Leave a Reply

