July 29th, 2017 | Charlie and After thoughts

Kaohsiung, Taiwan.

Saturday. 

2:10 a.m. I was about to fall asleep when an app on my smart phone buzzed. A news alert from CNN. A baby born with an extremely rare genetic  disease causing progressive brain damage and muscle weakness had died 2 weeks short of his 1st birthday. His name was Charlie Gard. I had been following this story as like most I am a parent and being so news about some one elses child in such peril pulled on my heart and conscious. Charlie’s parents had been locked in a court battle for many months with the hospital treating him over alternative treatment which could have had a chance of saving his life, had he not been the subject of a court battle. What a tragedy when legal and medical minds think they know best and think parents know nothing. Sorry Charlie. Hope you are in a more worthy place and your parents get somekind of peace.

2:15 a.m. Had to check on Alexander. He was safe and sound asleep. I am blessed for that simple pleasure and experience.

Apple flavored icecream.

8:00 a.m. Woke up with a craving for icecream and snuck down to the local Family Mart convenience store for a $35 apple flavored soft serve icecream.

8:30 a.m. Carrefour is now open so I wandered on in and found the diaper brand Alexander uses was on special with only 2 bags left. So I bought both. These dales don’t last long, get it or regret I say.

9:30 a.m. Storm clouds have rolled on in. There was a tropical storm named Nesat heading towards Taiwan’s east coast about mid island late last night. It may be upgraded to a Typhoon today. It’s starting to rain a little now. I’m sure it will be a wet afternoon. I hope it can cool things down. I put together another Electronics kit late Thursday night and tried again yesterday, but the muggy weather makes it an unbearable task and with only one operational hand, even more so. But if it chills down today and we get some cool winds it will be a pleasure to sit down and focus on making some more. I enjoy doing it. And have to admit have become a little bored and annoyed at not being able to do much with my electronics. EDGAR II is at a standstill due to my wrist injury. I was mere days awsy from finalizing it when the crash happened.  That was almost 3 weeks ago. 

I also have started planning to make an experimental brain wave stimulator. I know how to do it and can get the parts, but building it would be too difficult with my current disability. After testing it on myself of course I will commercialize it by housing it in a standard ‘gadget type housing box’ similar to the shell of a transistor radio with two plug it electrodes that you place behind your ears and use a variable wave control knobvto control the wave frequencies. Then pavkage it as an experiment DIY device and flog it on Ebay. There are a lot of people out in the world who’d buy such such a device I am sure. But again I must wait and see.

12:13 p.m. “Rain, rain go away, please come back another day….” Alexander sang looking through the bedroom window as the rain suddenly started pelting down outside. 

Thankfully it is starting to cool down a little bit now. Maybe I might actually be able to get some work done later on this afternoon. That would be lovely. I usually have Mia’s class today but they are away on vacation. I will see her again sometime next month along with my new private students Murphy and his sister Hedy. In the meantime I have the ever talented Anli to keep me going and on focus.

My Brainwave stimulation machine. Prototype. Works!

11:50 p.m. Wholly brains. I can’t believe it. I sat down at around 8:30 p.m. at my computer and electronics workbench to have a go at making my brain wave simulator and moments ago, by a fluke of luck ut started working. I have already tried it and placed two electrodes on various parts of my body, mainly skull base, behind my ears on the bone and on my front and side temples. And all those areas worked but with different effects. So I dosed myself 10 minutes of a low setting, which made me feel like I was rocking on a boat or swing from side to side gently. It was very relaxing. I’m amazed it worked. So now I got to start planning how to commercial it into a bix etc. Very exciting. 

12 Midnight. Going to celebrate my discovery with a beer and movie on the television. Good night.

Leave a Reply

