August 2nd, 2017 | Bumblebee

Inside bumble bee, the nickname of my prototype brain wave stimulation machine.
Bumble Bee with front casing attached.

Kaohsiung, Taiwan.

Raining. 25°c.

12:49 p.m. Waiting for express train to Tainan. I am not using my kick scooter today, or for a little while until my wrist injury has healed. The doctor said to me last week that I need to keep my hand and wrist in a natural position. Riding my kick scooter requires me to rest my injured wrist on the handle bar, even though I am not gripping it to maintain balance. And that is not in a natural position. So I decided to give it rest. I want my wrist to mend correctly. So it is just foot and train now.

1:06 p.m. The express train to Tainan arrived dead on time. And between the Zuoying station where I boarded to Tainan was fairly empty. I like it when I have a cab almost to myself. It will fill up though when it stops in Tainan as I get off, usually a stream of tourists get on after visiting the former historic capital.

I used the time on the train to make adjustments to my brain wave stimulation machine, which is easier to do than try to upgrade EDGAR my autonomous robot rover. EDGAR has to wait until my left hand is functioning again. In the meantime its BUMBLE BEE, my cranial electrotherapy device. I nicknamed it Bumble Bee because of its yellow case. Which is a plain transistor radio case for DIY projects. It was the only casing I could find for this idea. Unless I had a 3D printer, then I could make my own. So for now the yellow radio case will be fine.

A selfie at Tainan train station. I thought I was smiling…oh well.

1:30 p.m. Arrived in Tainan. Not raining here, for now. Take a slow walk to Anli’s ‘place’. 

2:30 p.m. Anli private class.

5 oclock Limited express train to Kaohsiung rolls into Tainan station.

5:00 p.m. Caught the Limited express train back to Kaohsiung station. These express trains look like hulking diesel dinosaurs … but they are fully electric. Perhaps they may have been fossil fueled engines eons ago but converted into electric trains later on. Don’t know. They just seem rather massive heavy looking things for modern age electric trains.

6:00 p.m. Went to pick up my motor scooter parked at the electronic store. I stopped by to grab some fresh parts.

7:00 p.m. Stopped by Carrefour on way home. I’m out of Ensure. It’s become a mainstay of my diet. Not only has it kept me healthy and sustainable but it saves me a lot of both time (no cooking, cleaning, prep etc) and money. Compared to orthodox grocery buying its a lot cheaper. One average meal whether cooked at home or takeout is about $120NT. But one drink of Ensure is around $30NT. That makes a massive difference to my budget.

7:30 p.m. Arrived home. Alexander was getting ready for bed. He seemed very happy to see me and had lots to say. Although it was all still ‘baby talk’. I stayed with Alex until he fell asleep. Which was within 15 minutes.

8:30 p.m. Started soldering up my brainwave machine in sections. 

10:00 p.m. Put the electronics aside and decided to watch a movie and relax. Time to call it a day.

Leave a Reply

