August 9th, 2017: Orthopedics and 3D printers

A standard Taiwanese Hospital appointment slip.

7:30 a.m. Woke up and took Alexander to his kindergarten. 3rd day and he still doesn’t want to go inside. I guess it will take a while.

8:00 a.m. I finished and had an operational brain wave stimulation machine last night. I was very happy. I tested it out using two hospital grade electrodes I purchased for a set of four at $150. That was half the price I had payed last week. Another bonus. The box and electrodes worked well. My only thing to do now is some slight modification s of tge internal wiring. There was far too much ‘spaghetti’ inside the machine. Which made difficult to close. Not good for something want to sell to general public. So I need to shorten and simplify the internal wiringvand make it more user friendly. The reason is it needs a 9V battery that the user will need to install in the box. If they have to open the box and fight a jungle of wiring to connect the battery it will end up flying out their window, I’m sure. So some modication work needs to be done.

10:22 a.m. Arrived at Yuan Geral Hospital for my checkup on the broken wrist. I had trouble with using my card in the registration machine, so asked a pasding nurse. It seems my appointment was yesterday. I’d read the times wrong. However she went into the doctors clinic and rescheduled a time for this afternoon at 3:30 p.m.  

11:00 a.m. Went to browse in the electronic stores and enjoy the free airconditioning. Looking for things that can help improve my Bumble Bee Box. Yesterday I stopped by a 3D printing store to see what the costs would be to 3D print my own customized electronic box for my Bumble Bee project. I discovered it’s $200NT per hour. 3D printing is charged hourly, mainly because slow process. A 3D printer heats and melts a string-like plastic substance and uses tiny jet nozels to print an object in layers. My guess it would probably take 3 hours to print my box. So that’s $600NT to create a custom housing for my device. But I’d have to create the printing file myself, which I could do and give it to them on a USB memory stick. I’d like to give it a shot, just to see the result, but wouldn’t do that for future orders. I would have to invest in my own 3D printer, which for a general DIY one would cost about $15,000 NT or higher quality one around $45,000NT. For now I will pay to print a box and see how it sells on Ebay. 

3:30.p.m Yuan General Hospital. Had two more Xrays.

4:00 p.m. Saw the doctor who performed the surgery. He said the pin is getting a little lose but seems to be healing ok. However he may need to turn my hand under a general anesthetic. He has scheduled one more checkup on the 23rd of August before deciding ‘the turn’ date. I will have to be admitted again. Oh brother.

My cranial electrotherapy machine now has plug in leads for the electrodes.

11:05 p.m. I have spent a couple of hours tonight modifying my Bumblebee box. I have now added plug in electrode cables. It is now much more better looking and more convenient to carry now the electrodes can be unplugged and put away. The red and black electrode leads can connect to standard hospital or pharmacy bought electrode pads. Took a while to find the right connectors but worth the trouble. I’m happy with it now.  But now need to write a basic user manual.

Leave a Reply

